Utah's Law Protecting Kids

More children ages 6 to 14 die from traffic crashes than from anything else. But even more startling is the fact that over half of the 4- to 7-year-olds who die in crashes are buckled in seat belts. The truth is that these younger children are not safe in seat belts alone. They are not adequately protected by seat belts alone.

In Utah, children up to age 8 (through age 7) must be in an appropriate child safety seat or booster seat when traveling in a passenger vehicle. There is an exception to the law that states that children younger than eight are not required to be in a booster seat if they are at least 57 inches tall (4'9"). At that point, they should use the vehicle's lap and shoulder belt without a booster.

This is a primary enforcement law for occupants
under the age of 19 with a fine of $45